top of page
  • Photo du rédacteurThomas Deliot

Downsampled rendering for volumetric atmospheres : a presentation


For the past months I have been working again on the volumetric rendering component of my hobby terrain engine, after being heavily inspired by my long trip to New Zealand, and the release of both Red Dead Redemption 2 and announcement trailer of the new Flight Simulator.


My goal has always been to have a fully volumetric atmosphere at the 1:1 scale that my project uses, without compromising on render distance. This has led me down a long, hard but deeply insightful road that touches on very current topics for real-time rendering tech. Through this I've learnt a lot, and thus decided to prepare a presentation relating my work and learning process for my colleagues at Unity Labs Grenoble.


In the hopes that it might be interesting or even helpful to others, here are the slides of this presentation with my speech notes included.


And because I enjoy video editing, here's the teaser I put together for the presentation, overly dramatic music included :





bottom of page